Cards of Wine

Italian Wine Regions


Italy has many thousand years of wine production history, and it is one of the largest and most famous wine producing country in the world.

The most famous Italian wine regions are Toscana, Piemonte, and Veneto:

Toscana (Tuscany)

Toscana is famous for the city of Firenze, and red wines made from Sangiovese.


Toscana is most famous for the majestetic city of Firenze.

On the wine side, the region is best known for the Sangiovese based red wines:

  • Chianti Classico
  • Brunello di Montalcino
  • Vino Nobile di Montepulciano.

A copy of the Bordeaux Blend, named Super Tuscan, is also popular all over the world.

Vermentino is the best known white wine from the coastline, and Vernaccia is an internationally recognised white wine from the medieval town of San Gimignano.

On the sweet side, Vin Santo ("Holy Wine") is the national drink in Tuscany.

Toscana has 11 DOCGs:


Chianti DOCG (70% Sangiovese)
Chianti Classico DOCG (80% Sangiovese)
Brunello di Montalcino DOCG (100% Sangiovese)
Vino Nobile di Montepulciano DOCG (70% Sangiovese)
Montecucco Sangiovese DOCG (90% Sangiovese)
Morellino di Scansano DOCG (85% Sangiovese)

Super Tuscan:

Carmignano DOCG (Sangiovese, Cab Sauvignon/Franc, Merlot)
Suvereto Rosso DOCG (Cab Sauvignon, Merlot)
Val di Cornia Rosso DOCG (Sangiovese, Cab Sauvignon, Merlot)


Vernaccia di San Gimignano DOCG (85% Vernatcha)


Elba Aleatico Passito DOCG (100% Aleatico)

Piemonte (Piedmont)

Piemonte has been an important wine province since Roman times. The area is influenced both culturally and climatically by the Alps in the north, and the Ligurian coast in the south.


Nebbiolo (the power of the Barolo and Barbaresco) is the most famous grape of Piemonte, followed by the red grapes Barbera and Dolcetto.

For whites, Cortese and Arneis are the most popular grapes.

For dessert, the off-dry, sparkling Moscato d'Asti is the queen.

The most important wine regions are:

  • Asti (Barbera d'Asti)
  • Langhe (Nebbiolo, Barolo, Barbaresco, Barbera di Alba, Dolcetto, Roero)
  • Monferrato (Barbera del Monferrat, Nizza, Cortese di Gavi)
  • North (Gattinara, Ghemme)

Piemonte's DOCG regions:


Veneto is famous for its capital Venezia, and the wines Prosecco, Soave, and Amarone.

Italian Grapes Varieties

54 000 hectares
27 000
27 000
Pinot Grigio
25 000
24 000
21 000
20 000
18 000

Source: OIV Note de conjoncture mondiale 2017.

Trentino-Alto Adige

Trentino-Alto Adige is located in northern Italy. The capital is Trento.

About Alto Adige

Alto Adige is also called Südtirol (South Tyrol).

Italian and German are official languages, but the locals also speak Ladin.

Before 1918, Südtirol was part of the Austrian-Hungarian empire, but was annexed to Italy after the first World War.

Early wine production was dominated by Austrian red wines like Lagrein and Vernatch (Schiava).

Today white wines are more important, mostly Pinot Grigio, Gewürztraminer, Pinot Bianco, and Chardonnay.

Upcoming wines are Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Nero.

Friuli-Venezia Giulia

Friuli-Venezia Giulia is located in Nort East Italy. The capital is Trieste.

The region is best known for its white wines like Friulano, Pinot Grigio, and Prosecco.

A Perfect Wine Growing Climate

The climate in Friuli-Venezia Giulia is influenced by both the Alps and the Sea.

The Julian Alps in the north provide shelter from the cold winds, while both hot sommers and cold winters are tempered by the Adreatic Sea.

This even climate allows the grapes to develop balanced acidity and strong flavors.


Best Nown Regions

Carso DOC, Collio Goriziano DOC, Friuli Annia DOC, Friuli Aquileia DOC, Friuli Colli Orientali DOC, Friuli Grave DOC, Friuli Isonzo DOC, Friuli Latisana DOC, Lison-Pramaggiore DOC.

Collio Goriziano DOC

Collio Goriziano (or simply Collio DOC) is situated in the Province of Gorizia, in the Gorizia Hills by the Slovenian border.

Friulano DOC, Pinot Grigio DOC, and Sauvignon DOC are the primary white wines here, followed by Ribolla Gialla DOC, Malvasia Bianca DOC, Chardonnay DOC, and Pinot Bianco DOC.

The red DOCs are Merlot DOC, Cabernet Sauvignon DOC, Cabernet Franc DOC, Pinot Nero DOC.

Friuli Colli Orientali DOC

Colli Orientali del Friuli is situated in the Julian Alps by the Slovanian border.

The quality of the wines here comes from a chalky sandstone ground, lots of sun, and a cold climat 400m altitude.

Friulano DOC, Ribolla Gialla DOC, and Sauvignon Black DOC are the primary white wines, and the best reds are Merlot DOC, Refosco DOC, and Pignolo DOC.

Friuli Izonso DOC

Savignon DOC and Chardonnay DOC, and the most prominent white wines, and the best red is Merlot DOC.

Friuli Grave DOC

Pinot Grigio is the most prominent white wine, and the best reds are made from the Bordeaux grapes Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot.

Lombardia (Lombardy)

Lombardia, in the north of Italy, is one of the richest regions in Europe.

The capital Milano is the largest metropolitan area in Italy with about 10 million inhabitants.

Lombardia is blessed with spectacular lakes: Como, Maggiore, Garda, and Iseo.

Lombardia has 5 DOCG Regions.

Valle d'Aosta

Valle d'Aosta has a population of less than 130.000.

Italian and French are official languages, but the population also speak Valdôtain.

The Capital is Aosta.

Listed Wines:

Petit Rouge

Primary Grapes:

20% Petit Rouge
10% Nebbiolo


Tourists know Liguria as the Italian Riviera. The Capital is Genova.

Listed White Wines:

Cinque Terre Bianco
Rossese Bianco

Listed Red Wines:

Rossese di Dolceacqua

Primary Grapes:

45% Vermentino
10% Rossese

Emilia Romagna

Bologna (the capital) and the other big cities, Parma, and Modena are known as the mecca of food.

In the wine world, Emilia Romagna is best known for Lambrusco.


Marche is located on the Adriatic coast. The Capital is Ancona.


Umbria is located in the center of Italy. The Capital is Perugia.


Abruzzo is located in central Italy. The capital is L'Aquila. The lagest city is Pescara.

The region is best known for the Montepulciano grape.


Lazio is located is located between the Apennines and the Mediterranean Sea.

The capital is Roma.


Molise is located on the Adriatic coast. It is Italy’s second smallest region after Aosta.

The capital is Campobasso.

Red Wines:


White Wines:


Primary Grapes:

50% Montepulciano
10% Trebbiano


Basilicata is known for the Unesco city of Matera. The Capital is Potenza.

Red Wines:

Aglianico del Vulture

White Wines:


Primary Grape:

55% Aglianico


Calabria, on the Italian "toe", is separated from Sicilia by the Strait of Messina.

The Capital is Catanzaro.

Red Wines:


Primary Grape:

50% Gaglioppo


Campania is one of the oldest wine regions in Italy. The capital is Napoli.

The grapes in Campania were introduced by the Greeks and cultivated by the Romans.

The name "Campania" derives from "Campania Felix" ("Happy Land").

Red Wines:

Aglianico del Taburno

White Wines:

Greco di Tufo

Primary Grape:

35% Aglianico

Puglia (Apulia)

Puglia is not very famous in the wine world, but the interest is growing.

The capital is Bari.

Sardegna (Sardinia)

Sardegna is best known for vacation and beaches. The capital is Cagliari.

In the wine world, Sardegna is best known for the white Vermentino and the red Cannonau.

This said, Sardegna is a magical place for wine lovers. Their native grapes, cultivated and kept in existence with real earnestness, are now producing some of the most delicate Italian wines.

Sicilia (Sicily)

Sicily is the largest island in the Mediterranean. The capital is Palermo.

It is known for old ruins, sandy beaches, seafood, and the Marsala dessert wine.

Sicily is also well respected for the dry wines of Etna and Vittoria.

Alcohol can be addictive. Drink in moderation.

Cards of Wine is an independent web site. Help us to be better. Privacy Policy

© Copyright 2015-2023 Cards of Wine AS. All Rights Reserved.

Contact: Email