Cards of Wine

Portuguese Wine Regions

Portuguese Varieties 2017

18 000 hectares
Touriga Franca (Port Wine)
15 000
Castelão (Port Wine)
13 000
Fernão Pires (Table Wine)
13 000
Touriga Nacional
12 000
Trincadeira (Port Wine)
11 000
7 000
7 000
6 000
6 000


Region Douro

The Douro region is the oldest wine region in the world (1756) and is classified as a World Heritage by UNESCO.

Famous for Port Wine, Douro also produces quality red wines (Douro Tinto), with a taste range from light Burgund to rich Bordeaux.

Listed Wines:

Douro Tinto
Douro Branco

Port Wines:

Port Red
Port White

Port wine is produced through a unique vinification method, and there are several varieties of Port wine: Tawny, White, Ruby, and Late Bottled Vintage.

Port wine is exported from the city of Porto (thus the name).


Region Dão

Dão is one of Portugal's best wine regions.

The regionion is known to produces gastronomic wines, with very good acidity and delicate aromas.

Listed Wines:

Dão Touriga Nacional



Beira is a large wine region in central Portugal, stretching from the Atlantic coast to the border of Spain.

Red wines from Beira are rich and dark colored.

The main grapes are Baga, Touriga Nacional, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Syrah.

Red Wines:

Touriga Nacional

White Wines:


Lisbon (Estramadura)

Region Lisboa

Lisbon is a region more famous for quantity than quality, but with some honorable exceptions.

The Arinto grape is known to produce dry white wines with ripe fruitiness.

Tinta Barocca grapes are rare, but provide quite rich and herbal red wines.

The region also grows Tempranillo and international grapes like Cabernet Sauvignon.

Minho (Vinho Verde)

Region Vinho Verde

Minho is the largest wine region in Portugal, producing nearly 100 million liters of Vinho Verde every year.

Listed Wines:

Vinho Verde


Madeira is a Portuguese Island west of Africa.

Madeira is a fortified wine made on the Madeira Island.

Listed Wines:


Portuguese Wine Classifications

Vinho (de Mesa)

Vinho is the new classification for table wine. Table wine was previously called "Vinho de Mesa". Vinho translates to Wine. Mesa translates to Table.

Vinho Regional

Before the IGP and DOP regulations were invented by EU, Portugal was originally divided into 14 "Regional Wine" areas and the wines were labeled "Vinho Regional".

Many wine producers still use the Vinho Regional denomination because the new rules are more stringent, or because they have chosen to use grape varieties or volumes that are not permitted in the IGP or DOP.


IGP (Indicação Geográfica Protegida) is the next quality level, previously called "Vinho Regional".

The IGP classification has more stringent rules for cultivation and production than vinho, and the wines must have a regional origin.


DOP (Denominação de Origem Protegida), previously called DOC (Denominação de Origem Controlada) is the highest Portuguese quality level.

DOP requires a limited geographical area and strict rules for both cultivation and production.

Alcohol can be addictive. Drink in moderation.

Cards of Wine is an independent web site. Help us to be better.